Integrated Rx campaign to launch the Parkinson’s medication XADAGO.

Since 2015, the active ingredient safinamide has been licensed under the name XADAGO in Germany.

Safinamide is the first new chemical ingredient to be approved by the European Commission in the past ten years to treat Parkinson’s patients. This gives Parkinson’s patients an innovative treatment option in their add-on therapy during the disease’s middle and late stages.

The campaign that we developed to launch the new medication was first aimed at specialists – especially neurologists – but also at the medical sales force, who underwent intensive training using detailed training manuals and information material to communicate the advantages to medical specialists. Because we were included early on in designing the launch, we had the opportunity to ask the right questions and to develop extensive information and service material.

Job: Develop an integrated Rx launch campaign

Client: Zambon GmbH

Services: Medical specialist/clinic communication, sales support, training material

Indication/topic: Morbus Parkinson in the middle to late stages

Approach

We began designing the campaign before the new drug was approved for sale on the German market. This gave us the opportunity to examine the key message from Italy and evaluate existing material to modify it to the German market and to the neurological specialist and clinic environments.

The results became the foundation of our strategy to develop extensive new training and communication material in close cooperation with medical field forces based on scientific evidence of the drug’s effectiveness.

Implementation

The measures address the sales force, doctors, and patients. The focus was on training manuals for medical sales forces, and digital and printed material to inform medical specialists.

e-detailing and service tools such as mobility profiles, Hoehn & Yahr scales, and a medication plan for patients complement traditional sales force material.

A patient guidebook that addresses the special challenges present at the advanced stages of the disease complete the service package.

Result

The coherent formatting of XADAGO’s innovative mode of action was well received by sales teams and doctors.

In combination with the variety of service material on the topic of Parkinson’s that support doctors when consulting with their patients, the medical sales force was able to convince neurologists of the benefits of this Parkinson’s drug, and the prescription number forecasts were easily met.

The patient guidebook is also very popular since up to that point there had been none written specifically for the advanced stages of the disease.

Integrierte Rx-Kampagne zum Produktlaunch des Parkinson-Medikaments XADAGO.

Seit 2015 ist der Wirkstoff Safinamid unter dem Namen XADAGO auch in Deutschland zugelassen.
 Safinamid ist seit zehn Jahren der erste neue chemische Wirkstoff (NCE), der von der Europäischen Kommission die Zulassung zur Behandlung von Parkinson-Patienten erhalten hat. Parkinson-Patienten steht damit eine innovative Behandlungsoption in der Add-on-Therapie im mittleren bis späten Stadium zur Verfügung.

Die Kampagne, die wir zum Launch des neuen Medikaments entwickelten, richtete sich einerseits an Fachärzte – vor allem Neurologen –, aber auch an den medizinischen Außendienst, der mit detaillierten Trainingsmanuals und Informationsmaterialien intensiv auf die Kommunikation mit den Fachärzten vorbereitet wurde. Da wir schon früh in die Konzeption des Launches einbezogen wurden, hatten wir die Möglichkeit, nicht nur die richtigen Fragen zu stellen, sondern auch das umfangreiche Informations- und Servicematerial zu entwickeln.

Aufgabe: Entwicklung einer integrierten Rx-Launchkampagne

Kunde: Zambon GmbH

Leistungen: Facharzt-/Klinikkommunikation, Vertriebsunterstützung, Schulungsmaterialien

Indikation/Thema: Morbus Parkinson im mittleren bis späten Stadium

Herangehensweise

Noch vor der Zulassung des neuen Präparates für den deutschen Markt haben wir die konzeptionelle Arbeit aufgenommen. So hatten wir die Gelegenheit, die Kernbotschaft aus Italien zu prüfen und das vorhandene Material zu evaluieren, um beides für das deutsche Marktumfeld und für Zielgruppe des neurologischen Facharzt- und Kliniklandschaft zu modifizieren.

Das Ergebnis wurde Grundlage unserer Strategie, in enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem medizinischen Außendienst umfangreiches neues Schulungs-
und Kommunikationsmaterial zu entwickeln, das die Wirkung des Präparates wissenschaftlich untermauert.

Umsetzung

Die Maßnahmen richteten sich an den Außendienst, Ärzte und Patienten. Schwerpunkte waren die Trainingsmanuals zur Schulung des medizinischen Fachaußendienstes sowie digitale und gedruckte Materialien für die Facharztkommunikation.

E-Detailer und Servicetools wie Beweglichkeitsprofile, Hoehn-&-Yahr-Skala oder ein Medikamentenplan für Patienten ergänzten die klassischen Außendienstmaterialien.

Ein Patientenratgeber, der speziell auf die Herausforderungen im fortgeschrittenen Krankheitsstadium eingeht, rundete das Servicepaket ab.

Ergebnis

Die verständliche Aufbereitung der innovativen Wirkmechanismus von XADAGO fand beim Außendienst wie bei den Fachärzten großen Zuspruch.

In Kombination mit den vielfältigen Servicematerialien zum Thema Parkinson, die den Arzt im Gespräch mit dem Patienten unterstützen, konnte der medizinische Fachaußendienst die Neurologen vom Nutzen des Parkinsonpräparats überzeugen, so dass die prognostizierten Verordnungszahlen sehr gut erreicht wurden.

Auch der Patientenratgeber erfreut sich großer Beliebtheit, da es einen solchen speziell für das fortgeschrittene Stadium noch nicht gab.