Awareness campaign for SIMDAX from ORION Pharma.
Or: How a pitch became a campaign to counter reservations against modern inotropes.

SIMDAX with the active ingredient levosimendan is a modern inotrope that is used to manage acute decompensated heart failure in clinical settings. Since 2013, the drug has been approved for use in Germany and is marketed to cardiologists, cardiac surgeons, intensive care physicians, and emergency medical doctors, as well as cardiac anesthetists.

The goal of our client, ORION Pharma, was to raise awareness for the product and its USP and convince more specialists to use it. The challenge? Doctors, especially those with little clinical experience, frequently resist using inotropes since it is not seen as a drug of choice and the field of indication in the ESC guidelines is restricted. Often no distinction is made between conventional and modern inotropes.

Our assignment was to develop a key visual that supported its USP and raised awareness for SIMDAX.

Job:
Develop a key visual, awareness campaign

Client:
ORION Pharma

Services:
Repositioning, key visual development, corporate design, campaign development

Indication/topic:
Acute decompensated heart failure, inotropes

Approach

Our briefing indicated that inotropes were opposed by doctors mostly because they increase the consumption of oxygen. The term ‘inotrope’ has negative connotations and should therefore be avoided. SIMDAX, however, does not increase the delivery of oxygen.

A re-briefing workshop that we initiated with subsequent market research showed that doctors do use inotropic agents due to a lack of alternatives. And they would even welcome better drugs. This realization modified our assignment and changed our strategy to one that polarized the inotropic theme, and then provided a positive alternative with SIMDAX.

Implementation

Instead of a new key visual, we developed an awareness campaign focusing on SIMDAX’s core message: Erhöht die Kontraktilität. Nicht den O2-Verbrauch (Increases contractile force. Not oxygen consumption). In line with the drug’s positioning as a modern inotropic agent, we developed a visual analogy: If conventional inotropes are light bulbs, SIMDAX is an energy saving lamp.

We used conventional channels, sales material, and digital communication to market the new strategy with its key visual: Above the line and below the line. In addition, it was positioned in social medical networks and at trade shows, symposia, and conferences.

Result

After the key visual performed far above the industry average in advertising tests, it was clear that the market research conducted three years after the product launched would also show positive performance. It demonstrated that SIMDAX with its benefits as a modern inotropic agent is well-established in the target group and that the product enjoys a high degree of acceptance.

The sales force also received long-lasting support with the new communication strategy. The result? The ambitious target corridor with regards to prescription figures and sales was easily met.

Awareness-Kampagne für SIMDAX von ORION Pharma
Oder: Wie aus einer Pitchaufgabe eine Kampagne wider die Vorbehalte gegen moderne Inotropika wurde

SIMDAX mit dem Wirkstoff Levosimendan ist ein modernes Inotropikum, das bei akut dekompensierter Herzinsuffizienz im klinischen Setting indiziert ist. Seit 2013 ist das Präparat in Deutschland zugelassen und wird bei Kardiologen, Kardiochirurgen, Intensiv- und Notfallmedizinern sowie Kardio-Anästhesisten kommuniziert.

Ziel unseres Kunden Orion Pharma war es, die Bekanntheit des Produktes und seines USP zu steigern und mehr Fachärzte zu Anwendern zu machen. Die Herausforderung: Vor allem Ärzte mit wenig klinischer Erfahrung lehnen Inotropika häufig ab, da sie in der Wissensvermittlung nicht als Mittel der Wahl gelten und die Indikationsgebiete in den ESC-Leitlinien eingeschränkt wurden. Die Differenzierung in herkömmliche und moderne Inotropika wurde häufig nicht geleistet.

Unsere Aufgabe lautete daher: „Entwickeln Sie ein Keyvisual für SIMDAX, das den Key-Sentence (USP) unterstützt und die Aufmerksamkeit für SIMDAX steigert.“

Aufgabe:
Keyvisual-Entwicklung, Awareness-Kampagne

Kunde:
ORION Pharma

Leistungen:
Re-Positionierung, Keyvisual-Entwicklung, Corporate Design, Kampagnenentwicklung

Indikation/Thema:
akut dekompensierte Herzinsuffizienz, Inotropika

Herangehensweise

Unser Briefing besagte: Inotropika werden von Ärzten vor allem wegen des erhöhten O2-Verbrauchs abgelehnt. Der Begriff Inotropikum ist daher negativ belegt und zu vermeiden. SIMDAX erhöht den O2-Verbrauch jedoch nicht.

Ein von uns initiierter Rebriefing-Workshop mit anschließender MaFo ergab, dass Ärzte in Ermangelung von Alternativen Inotropika durchaus einsetzen. Und sich sogar ein verbessertes Präparat wünschen. Diese Erkenntnis modifizierte die Aufgabenstellung und führte zur Strategie: Das Thema Inotropika polarisierend ansprechen und mit SIMDAX eine positive Lösung bieten.

Umsetzung

Statt eines neuen Keyvisuals entwickelten wir eine Awareness-Kampagne rund um die Kernbotschaft von SIMDAX: „Erhöht die Kontraktilität. Nicht den O2-Verbrauch.“ Passend zur Positionierung als modernes Inotropikum entwickelten wir eine visuelle Analogie: Sind herkömmliche Inotropika Glühbirnen, ist SIMDAX die Energiesparlampe.

Die neue Strategie inklusive Keyvisual wurde über klassische Kanäle und Außendienstmaterialien ebenso kommuniziert wie über digitale, above the line ebenso wie below the line. Zudem wurde sie in medizinischen Social Networks platziert sowie auf Messen, Symposien und Tagungen.

Ergebnis

Nachdem das Keyvisual bereits im Anzeigentesting weit oberhalb des Branchendurchschnitts performte, war klar, dass die MaFo drei Jahre nach der Produkteinführung ebenfalls gute Werte bringen würde. Sie belegt, dass SIMDAX als modernes Inotropikum mit seinen Vorteilen sehr gut bei der Zielgruppe verankert ist und das Produkt eine hohe Akzeptanz besitzt.

Der Außendienst wurde zudem durch die neue Kommunikationsstrategie im Arztgespräch nachhaltig gestärkt. Das Resultat: Der ambitionierte Zielkorridor im Bezug auf Verordnungszahlen und Umsatz wurde sicher erreicht.